GRHOF Grand Reopening A Big Success

Friends and fans of racing turned out in large numbers Saturday for the Grand Reopening of the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame in Dawsonville, Georgia. Photos by Justin Poole

By Brandon Reed
Posted in Feature Stories 6/3/11

With sunny skies overhead, several hundred race fans traveled to Dawsonville, Georgia Saturday to celebrate the grand reopening of the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame.

Race fans were treated to two new displays honoring two potential future hall of famers, Dawsonville’s Chase Elliott and Spencer Davis, as well as an opportunity to meet several Hall of Fame members during an autograph session, which featured Hall of Famers Bruce Brantley, Jack Jackson, Hoyt Grimes, Charlie Mincey and Hubert Platt, along with veteran racers Jabez Jones, Donald Tyson and Bobby Whitmire.

The grand reopening was held to celebrate the Hall of Fame’s rebirth as a 501(c)3 organization, operating under the volunteer run Dawsonville History Museum, INC.  Festivities included a ribbon cutting by Hall of Fame board members, volunteers and local dignitaries, along with a classic car show that included more than 50 entrants.

“It was an absolutely great day,” said Hall of Fame board chairman Gordon Pirkle.  “We were thrilled that so many race fans came out to share this very important day with us.  It was a great chance to reintroduce ourselves to the community here around Dawsonville and to race fans that traveled from all over to be with us.  With all the great comments and positive feedback we got, we know they’ll be back to see us and tell their friends and family about the work we’re doing here.”

In case you weren’t able to make it out to the Hall of Fame for the event, here’s a look through the camera lens of Justin Poole:

The ribbon cutting by Hall of Fame board chairman Gordon Pirkle (center), along with fellow board members and volunteers, kicked off Saturday’s grand reopening.

Fans lined up for the chance to get an autograph from several Georgia Racing Hall of Fame members during the event.

© 2009-2018 Every Other Man Productions All Rights Reserved -- Copyright notice by Blog Copyright